ICA Annual Benefit 2021


Opening Remarks and Welcome, Zoë Ryan, Daniel W. Dietrich, II Director, ICA
Special Guest Speaker, Dr. Amy Gutmann, President, University of Pennsylvania
Introduction of Honorees, Zoë Ryan, Daniel W. Dietrich, II Director, ICA
Honoree Tributes
Moderated Conversation, Dr. Kaja Silverman and Charline von Heyl. Moderated by Carrie Schneider
Musical Performance, Enohem


Kaja Silverman. Photo: Carrie Schneider.

Dr. Kaja Silverman, the Keith L. and Katherine Sachs Professor Emerita of Contemporary Art at the University of Pennsylvania, is an American art historian and critical theorist whose studies encompass film, photography, art, psychoanalysis, literature, and feminist theory. She is the author of nine books including The Miracle of Analogy (2015) which is the first installment in a three-volume reconceptualization of photography. In 2011, Dr. Silverman was awarded the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Achievement Award to which Penn President Dr. Amy Gutmann remarked that Dr. Silverman was “one of the most influential humanists of our day.”

Charline von Heyl. Photo by: Ralph Mecke.

Charline von Heyl is a celebrated contempo­rary artist whose first U.S. museum survey was organized by ICA in 2011. Benefit 2021 marks the 10th anniversary of von Heyl’s ICA exhibition. Her work has also been exhibited worldwide, including solo exhibitions at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg, Tate Liverpool; Kunsthalle Nurnberg; Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden; and the Vienna Secession.


Julie Bernstein
Allison Rubler


Danielle and Drew Anderman
Julie L. and Lawrence J. Bernstein
Laura Tisch Broumand and Stafford Broumand
Kate and John Carrafiell
Jung and Nelson Chai
Cecile and Christopher D’Amelio
Cheri and Steven M. Friedman
Stacey and Benjamin Frost
Amanda and Glenn Fuhrman
Andrea B. Laporte
Marc J. Leder
Josephine Magliocco
Jennifer Otto-Klein and John Klein
Lori W. and John R. Reinsberg
Allison and Neil Rubler
Katherine Sachs
Stephanie and David Simon
Brett and Daniel Sundheim
Meredith and Bryan Verona
Dorothy A. and Stephen R. Weber
Caroline Gittis Werther and Daniel Werther
Lise and Jeffrey Wilks


Corbett vs. Dempsey
Petzel Gallery, New York
The Study at University City

Special thanks to tonight’s honorees, Dr. Kaja Silverman and Charline von Heyl; moderator, Carrie Scheinder; special guest speaker, Dr. Amy Gutmann; performer, Enohem; Cauleen Smith and Jason Moran. Extended thank you to Timothy J. Clark, Huey Copeland, John Corbett, Jim Dempsey, Ann Goldstein, Claudia Gould, Homay King, Sam Mapp, David Salle, and Anne Wagner.